On the whole, today was a bit of a shitty day. Lots of technical issues, you might say. However, my Saturday did deliver one very cool thing. Ecto 1!

I live in a small, English town which really is the last place you’d expect to find the Ectomobile from Ghostbusters. We have horses, a park, lots of trees and some ducks, but full size movie memorabilia? Forget it. And yet, there it was sitting in the town centre, part of a charity event. Naturally, as an unashamed movie geek, seeing the 1959 Cadillac Miller-Meteor limo-style end loader combination car, ambulance conversion (thank you Wiki), with the famous logo on the sides was far more thrilling to me than to any sane person. Certainly my 14 year-old son was utterly mystified by my excitement, but I’m kinda used to that. He doesn’t really get anything from the 1980s.

"Everybody can relax. I found the car."

There was a bit of a crowd so I had to take these pictures quickly. I apologise for the quality. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t get my son to take a picture of me next to it, if only to add to his bemusement, but childish excitement muddied the waters of my mind. Such as they are. I’m also kicking myself that I didn’t try to steal it, but the practicalities did seem rather insurmountable. Too bad. It would have looked good above the fireplace.

"Just needs a little suspension work... And a muffler... And maybe brakes."

Isn’t it just about the coolest thing ever? Now I’m keeping my fingers crossed that next Saturday I’ll find Dr Emmet Brown’s DeLorean sitting in the town centre. Trust me, this town could use being dragged to the future. Especially now the ghosts have been busted.

